Anukulyasya sankalpah

graphic footer

anukulyasya sankalpah pratikulyasya varjanam
raksisyatiti visvaso goptrtve varanam tatha
atma-niksepa-karpanye sad-vidha saranagatih

“The six divisions of surrender are: accepting those things favorable to devotional service, rejecting unfavorable things, the conviction that Krsna will give protection, accepting the Lord as one’s guardian or master, full self-surrender, and humility.”


The awakening of surrender in the heart of a living entity is the first step towards advancement in Krishna consciousness and the above-mentioned symptoms are the characteristics of true Shraddha. Srila Bhakti vinod Thakur has beautifully elaborated on the symptom of anukulasya sankalpa (accepting those things favourable to devotional service) in his bhajan Shuddha bhakata charan renu, in which he describes that the dust of the lotus feet of pure devotees, enthusiastic devotional service, and service to the pure devotees of the highest order are the roots of the creeper of devotion. He further glorifies Tulsi devi, Ekadashi Tithi, Janmashtami and other festivals, the Ganges and the pastime places of the lord as extremely conducive for one’s spiritual life. When one is, in this way, absorbed in the remembrance of the lord, they feel great pleasure upon seeing articles related to the Lord which reminds them of his eternal names, forms, qualities and pastimes. Srila Bhaktivinod Thakur therefore also glorifies shak, green leafy vegetables, for they are really dear to Gaurahari and therefore remind one of him.

One should therefore take shelter of these six symptoms to develop true surrender at the lotus feet of Guru and Krishna and having thus achieved the first stage on the path of progress in spiritual life, one can make rapid advancement thereafter in the other stages as well.